Official Name

Negara Brunei Darussalam (State of Brunei)


Bandar Seri Begawan




5,765 sq km or 2,225 sq mi


Brunei Dollar






Malay, English, Chinese

Major Cities

Bandar, Seri Begawan, Kuala Belait, Seria, Tutong


Humid tropical climate

Brunei is located on the northern coast of the island of Borneo, in eastern Asia, bounded on the north by the South China Sea, and on all other sides by the Malaysian state of Sarawak, which also divides the country into two parts. ​

Climate of Brunei

Brunei has a humid, tropical climate, with an average annual temperature of about 27°C. The country experiences heavy annual rainfall, more so, during the monsoon. In fact, there is no dry season at all. ​

Flora And Fauna of Brunei

Around 84% of the country is covered with dense tropical rain forests, which also account for much of Brunei's vegetation. The country also has a rich wildlife and includes animals like monkeys, varied kind of birds and reptiles. Some threatened species are also found here and about 20% of the land comes under the protected banner. 

People of Brunei 

About two-thirds of the population of Brunei is made up of Malay and the remaining one-third consists of Chinese, Indians, and other groups like Dayaks and Belaits. Islam is the state religion, and the majority of the people are Muslims. Though the official language is Malay, English is also used for official purposes. Education is compulsory for children aged 5 to 16 years and it is free at all levels. Primary and secondary education is provided in Malay, English, or Chinese.