Form of government: Constitutional monarchy, parliamentary democracy

Parliament: The Riksdag, with 349 members in one chamber

Election: Every four years. The latest was in September 2010

Head of state: is King Carl XVI Gustaf (born 1946).


Government:​ ​Prime Minister (Fredrik Reinfeldt) and 24 ministers. All members of the government belong to the Alliance Coalition, which includes the Conservative Party, People's Party and the Centre Party and Christian Democrats, and Foreign Minister Mr. Carl Bildt (Conservative Party).

​ ​