This section speaks about protected and restricted areas in various states of India, as well as the guidelines for having firearms, and other security matters.


Foreign nationals who wish to visit, stay or pass through the areas mentioned below are required to obtain necessary Restricted/ Protected Area permits from the Ministry of External Affairs. Application should be submitted to Northern Division, Ministry of External Affairs, New Delhi. A minimum of four weeks notice is required to process a relevant case.

Protected Areas

1. Manipur: Loktak Lake, Imphal, Moirang INA Memorial, Keibul Lamjao National Park and Waithe Lake, Khongjom War Memorial (To and from Imphal by Air Only)

 2. Nagaland: Kohima, Dimapur, Phek, Kohima war cemetery Dzukou Valley

3. Mizoram: Vairengte, Thingadawl and Aizawl

4. Arunachal Pradesh: Itanagar, Ziro, Along, Pasighat, Miao, Namdapha Tapi, Sejusa (Puki) Bhalukpong.

5. Sikkim: Songri, Tsomgo (Changu lake), Mangan, Singhik, Tong, Chungthang, Lachung and Yunthang

6. Uttarakhand: Nanda Devi sanctuary, Niti Ghati, Kalindi Khal in Chamoli, Uttarkashi Distt. Adjoining areas of Milam glacier and Pithoragarh.

7. Himachal Pradesh: Pooh, Khab, Sumdo, Dhankar, Tabo Gompa, Kaja, Moorang, Dabling, Lahaul and Spiti.

8. Jammu and Kashmir

Khaltse Sub-Division (Drokahpa Area), Khaltse Dumkhar Skorduchan Hanudo, Biama Dha. Nubra Sub-Division

  • Lah-Khardung, La-Khlsar-Frit upto Panamik
  • Leh-Khardung La-Khalsar-upto Hunder
  • Leh-Sabo-Digar. La-Digar-Labab-Khungru. Gampa-Tangar (Only for trekking conducted by approved tour operators and accompanied by State Police Personnel).

Nyoma Sub-Division

  • Leh-Upshi-Chumathang-Mahi-Puga-Tso-Moari Lake/Kozok
  • Leh-Upshi-Debring-Puga-Tso-Morarj Lake/Korzok
  • Leh-Karu-Chang. La-Durbuk-Tangtse-Lukung-Spankmik (Pangong Lake upto Spankmik).

9. Rajasthan: Western side upto Indo-Pak border of National Highway No.15, running from Sri Ganganagar to Sanchore.

Restricted Areas

1. Sikkim: Gangtok, Rumtek, Phodang, Pemayangste, Khechoperi and Tashiding. For more information on the restricted/ protected areas in the North-East region, click here.

2. Andaman & Nicobar Islands: Municipal Area, Port Blair, Havelock Island, Long, Neil Island, Jolly Buoy, North and South Cinque, Red Skin, Mayabunder, Diglipur, Mt. Harriet and Madhuban


According to India's Arms Rules, 1962, it is mandatory to have a valid arms licence issued by DCP (licensing) for possession and carrying of firearms. Further, import of automatic/ semiautomatic weapons and firearms (including pistols and revolvers) of prohibited bores to India is not permitted.

Security and Search At The Airport  

For the safety and security of passengers and of aircrafts operating in India, hand/cabin baggage and the person of all passengers are frisked and searched by the security authorities at the airport of departure.

Currency Declaration  

A person coming into India from abroad can bring with him foreign exchange without any limit. However, if the aggregate value of the foreign exchange in the form of currency notes, bank notes or traveller's cheques brought in exceeds US $ 10,000 or its equivalent and the value of foreign currency exceeds US $ 500 or its equivalent, it should be declared to the Customs Authority at the airport in the Currency Declaration Forms (CDF) on arrival in India.